Bandages of Nostalgia

            Last night I was watching Hammer’s The Mummy with my wife and I realized that I don’t think I ever did tell you, my dear readers, where the idea for the second Winston & Baum story came from.

            Let us travel back in time a year to October 2011, I was putting the finishing touches on the edit of Friedkin’s Curse: A Werewolf Tale of Terror (http://www.amazon.com/Friedkins-Curse-Werewolf-Terror-ebook/dp/B006NQBHWU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349965945&sr=8-1&keywords=friedkin%27s+curse) and I had just finished the first draft of Winston & Baum and the Secret of the Stone Circle (http://www.amazon.com/Winston-Baum-Secret-Stone-Circle/dp/1478302933/ref=la_B008LUTGS8_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349965990&sr=1-1).  It being the month of Halloween, I get in the mood to watch horror movies (old, new, I’m not that picky).  Hammer Horror films are some of the most fun movies that I remember from my childhood and I still have an incredibly soft spot for them, and a large section of shelf space for the DVDs. 

            As a lover of the Hammer catalogue of films, I have all four of the Mummy films they produced and it was over the course of a few days that I watched them.  It made me want to do something with a mummy, something different.  Given that most of these films are set in the late 1800’s and my duo Winston & Baum live in a steampunk world in the late 1800’s, let’s just say that I thought it was a good combination.  So not only are Winston & Baum drawn into a conspiracy that leads them to Egypt after some strange goings on at the British Museum, but they also face classic monsters of Egyptian and Muslim mythology.  You’ll see ghuls, ifrit, and werehyenas (Oh my!) not to mention appearances by several members of the Egyptian pantheon.

            Of course you can’t have a mummy story without first having a curse, so I made a slight twist with the curse.  This time the mummies are not awakened because of a curse, they are the curse.  Without giving away too much info, let me just say that someone is trying to reunite these mummies to awaken the ancient goddess Sekhmet and she’s not a good goddess.  So having given you some idea of what’s coming in the next installment of Winston & Baum’s adventures and also letting you know where it stems from, coming next summer, Winston & Baum Against the 7 Mummies of Sekhmet.  Keep checking this blog for more information on the release date.

About lagomorphflix

Hey everybody, I'm a writer/ amateur filmmaker. I'm looking to go professional and always looking for ways to reach new audiences. So please feel free, take a read and let me know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

