Wrong? I think not!

            Hello friends, I get asked a lot of times what’s wrong with me?  Mainly I’m asked this, because I enjoy horror movies and write dark things on occasion.  In all honesty, I have yet to meet anyone remotely “well-balanced.”  Yet the answer that I normally give is a simple one.  I am a product of the 80’s.  My brother and sister both teens in the 80’s, exposed me to Friday the 13th, Nightmare onElm Street and all the other fodder of the time.  The Monster Squad made horror more personal to me, as it was children and not over stimulated teens in danger.  R.L. Stine also helped me come to some fruition with horror as the Goosebumps series caught the attention of my peers.  I did not actually follow Goosebumps but found instead the more visceral adult realm of horror through Dean Koontz and Stephen King. 

            Truth be told, I believe that cinema instilled my love for horror most of all.  It was Bela Lugosi as Dracula, Christopher Lee as the Mummy, and several different werewolf films (The Howling, An American Werewolf inLondon, etc.) that helped me into my current relationship with horror.  It wasn’t until high school and college that I stumbled upon the writings of H. P. Lovecraft, who gave me a greater appreciation for horror than any other writer had before.  I grew up playing Doom, Resident Evil, and others of their ilk.  I read comic books (a lot) horror, science fiction, and superhero.  If a book sounds good and looks interesting I’ll give it a read. 

            True I also indulge in folklore and mythology (including contemporary or as it is also known: urban legends).  I find cryptozoology fascinating and am willing to believe in the existence of cryptids.  Granted most people do not share my views on the subjects, but I am not so willing to ascertain the concrete certainty of man’s knowledge.  I’m not here to defend my views (at least not today).  I’ll just say that I don’t believe that we know as much as we think we do.

            So you know what’s wrong with me?  Nothing.  I am the person that I am.  Do I stalk people?  No.  (Unless you consider that incident I had with the neighbor, but in my defense I thought he was a skunk-ape.  He was just very hairy and smelly, still not 100% sure he wasn’t really a skunk ape that had learned to mimic our speech and call the police.)  I think I’m a decent sort of fellow.  As I ask that you don’t judge a book by its cover (at least read the back flap first) don’t judge a person by their interests.

About lagomorphflix

Hey everybody, I'm a writer/ amateur filmmaker. I'm looking to go professional and always looking for ways to reach new audiences. So please feel free, take a read and let me know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wrong? I think not!

  1. Curisan says:

    Exactly. You should only judge somebody by their body count.

Leave a Reply

