A Lot of Pokers in the Fire

            Sorry that I haven’t been blogging as frequently as I’d like to, got a lot of pokers in the fire right now.  Which is good, my wife claims I get destructive when I’m bored.  Just because I started a fire a couple of times, I think she’s overreacting, but she hides the matches now.  Anyway I digress.  How about a few updates, that was kind of the point of this blog.

            The cover for the steampunk fantasy that I’ve been talking about is being worked on as I type this.  I’ve seen some of the early proofs and I have to say, it is awesome and I think everybody will like it.  I’m hoping to be able to show one of the proofs before its colored.  This story has me pretty excited, I got to do a little playing around with mythology, folklore, and steam punk.  Not to mention it’s set in Victorian errorEngland.  I’m planning on having that out in June (fingers crossed), but more details as it appears.  I don’t know if it’s too soon to say or not, but I’m planning on making it the first of a five part series.  More on those as they develop though.

            While I’ve been revising and getting feedback on the steampunk piece, I haven’t forgotten to write.  So I’ve returned to horror with a few interesting things.  First among them is a Weird Western, not weird science fiction but weird horror.  I’ll go ahead and admit that I am fascinated with the cowboy, they are the only true American character. Japanhas the samurai,Europehas the knight, and we got cowboys so it was fun to right about them.  This one is only about 15,000 words so it’s not very big, but it was fun to write.  Fun side note, when my wife read it, she actually got disturbed by the monsters (not going to lie, made me feel like I’d done my job).

            I’m planning on releasing several shorts near the end of the year: The weird western, one featuring my supernatural detective Richard Rex, and maybe one or two more.  We’ll have to see what all I can get done with in time. 

            I’m also writing a longer piece of horror fiction tentatively titled the Lost Chapel. This one is going to be longer.  How long?  I don’t know, I’m not done with it yet.  It’s been fun to write and more challenging.  Why’s it been more challenging?  How kind of you to ask!  Normally (for those who have not read Friedkin’s Curse) I go for a quick burn.  I jump in your face with it and throw in a healthy dose of action.  This piece is a different flame than that, it’s a slow burn.  I’m trying to build the horror and focusing more on that and not putting as much action in it as the other pieces that I’ve written.  Don’t worry, there’ll be action but don’t expect the epic battle from Friedkin’s Curse or the action scene every chapter approach that I took with the steampunk story.  Still I hope that people like it, but because of this change of tactics it’s become a slower process.  I’ll give you more on this one when I’m coming to the close of writing it. 

            Lastly, I just started writing a pulp story.  That’s right for those of you that enjoy Lobster Johnson, the Shadow, the Spider, and Doc Savage; I’m throwing my hat into the ring of pulp action.  I don’t know when this will be done or see the light of day, it’s my current way to blow off steam.  If I do put this piece out it will be a collection of adventures.  (Okay, confession time.  I created a pulp hero for two reasons: 1. I wanted to write him fighting Nazi super-scientists in New York City & 2. I love the Fu Manchu books by Sax Rohmer and wanted to pit him against a league of ninja assassins serving a secret society inChinatown, for the first story he’s just fighting mobsters). 

            Don’t worry those of you who read Friedkin’s Curse(http://www.amazon.com/Friedkins-Curse-Werewolf-Terror-ebook/dp/B006NQBHWU/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1335531713&sr=8-2), I’m in the early planning stages of the sequel and will get it to you next year, promise.

            So there you have it.  My progress report as such.  I’ll give more details on these projects as they get closer to completion and release.  So I hope you guys are ready for these projects to drop on Amazon for the Kindle, because I’ll be sure to tell you when they do.  If nothing else, my wife’s happy that I’m not starting anymore fires and I’m busy enough to not be bored (but it’s a good busy).

About lagomorphflix

Hey everybody, I'm a writer/ amateur filmmaker. I'm looking to go professional and always looking for ways to reach new audiences. So please feel free, take a read and let me know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

