Goodbye Big Red

June 1, 2011-cleaned out my truck today.  It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.  Since I drover her off the lot in 1998 she’s been an exceptionally close friend, almost like a part of me.  The sentimental value alone was worth the weight of her.  My wife, Caralyn, and I had our first hug, kiss and date within the cab of that truck.  Caralyn gave her the nickname of Big Red, it was a fitting name.  Summers were spent in the bed of the truck at the park or at picnics. 

            That truck saw me through my senior year of high school, my entire college career, and the start of Caralyn’s art career.  Every show we’ve done for Mystic Reflections Big Red has been our transport and mechanical pack mule.  For thirteen years I kept up the repairs and made sure that everything ran smoothly.  Then on May 26, 2011 the unthinkable happened.  Two trees came toppling over onto her.  Her bed suffering a 12 to 18 inch dent across the top, the roof of the cab getting banged up, and the driver’s side mirror completely removed.  Even though it looked bad, I held out hope that she would be fixed and good as new in a few weeks.  Tuesday May 31, 2011 I received a call from my insurance company.  They deemed her totaled and offered me a paltry sum of money to replace my friend. 

            I’m sure I’m like most people and ranted and raved about the inefficiency of my insurance company that the car was still salvageable.  I’ve found out that she isn’t, at least not for more than twice what she’s worth.  It may sound stupid to you but I’ve tried to consider every option to repair my truck, my friend.  Unfortunately it’s just not in the cards.  So I went to take off her tag.  I cried, not going to lie about it.  For thirteen years that truck has seen me on every road trip, vacation, and adventure that I’ve been on.  It witnessed the budding romance between a woman that would become my wife and it drove us home after our wedding.  Most of my friends have at one time or another ridden in her, but no more.  It never let me down, and still runs like a top.  Unfortunately, there are things that just can’t be repaired no matter how badly we wish they could be. 

            I realize there are those out there who are probably thinking; it’s just a truck.  I’ll just go ahead and let you know that I disagree and leave it at that.

 Big Red:Burgundy1998 Ford F-150 XLT Supercab.

About lagomorphflix

Hey everybody, I'm a writer/ amateur filmmaker. I'm looking to go professional and always looking for ways to reach new audiences. So please feel free, take a read and let me know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goodbye Big Red

  1. Melanie says:

    Wahh!!!!! T.T this sucks sooo bad Sethery,…….. Im sooo sorry. R.I.P. Big Red, you will be missed..

Leave a Reply

