Don’t stop believing

            Hello everyone,  sorry I haven’t blogged in a while.  I’ve been having a wonderful time writing my newest work.  I’m nearing the 40k word mark and realized that I hadn’t posted in a little while.  So WHOOT! for that, and yes this is my mythos story.  Hopefully it’ll be my “Dunwich Horror,” “Call of C’thulhu,” or (insert your favourite Lovecraft story here).  Lofty ambitions I know, but that is one of the reasons I write, because I dream of making a name for myself in the craft.   The other being my enjoyment of creating a good story, and in reality I think it’s a lot of fun.
            Which brings me to the soapbox I intend to stand on; when should you abandon that dream of being a film-maker, musician, writer, artist, or other dream.  Well as far as I can see the answer is: NEVER!  It is not easy, believe me I know.  I’ve been attempting to find a literary agent to help get my recent manuscript into publisher’s offices and so far I haven’t been able to find one that is still in business and is looking for my kind of fiction (horror/dark fantasy).  So if anybody out there knows somebody, I’m more than appreciative for any insights you may have.  But if I can’t find an agent, or can’t find a publisher that wants to publish my work, I’m not going to stop writing.  If my short films (www.youtube.com/satucker1980) never leads anywhere I’m still going to make them. 

            Let me clarify, I would love to make a living doing either of those things.  I am at heart a realist and realize that I may not ever have that opportunity, while I may not make a living off of them that does not mean that I don’t enjoy it.  I love creating works of fiction, I love doing this blog and seeing people read it.  It makes me feel somewhat validated that you bother to come here and read this.  Even if you didn’t though, I would still write it.  Imagination/inspiration whatever you call her, she is the most fickle mistress there is (or pickle as my word creating friends might say; clarification pickle is a combination of picky and fickle not the preserved cucumber).  Yet she is still a rewarding mistress.  Some people love working in their yard, and when they are done they enjoy the rewards of having accomplished something.  So do those of us who take more traditional creative realms.  Finishing that story that you think is the greatest work you’ve written yet, is a phenomenal feeling.  Sculpting that piece that you didn’t know if you could do, wonderful (or so my wife tells me).  Capturing just the right shot and editing it together flawlessly, it’s magical.  Never forget the value of accomplishing what you set out to do.

            Friends, fellow imagination wranglers, I don’t have much in the way to offer except don’t give up that dream, keep plugging away.  Because when you give up that dream and plug up the wellspring of imagination two things happen; 1) you get boring, and 2) you get old.  I can speak for myself that I don’t want either of those things to happen to me and for those of you I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and knowing, I don’t want to see that happen to you either, you’re too talented to let that be your fate.

About lagomorphflix

Hey everybody, I'm a writer/ amateur filmmaker. I'm looking to go professional and always looking for ways to reach new audiences. So please feel free, take a read and let me know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

