It’s a good theme

            There are some things that I would like to be able to capture within some of my works, both written and filmed fiction.  Something that I think would be great to do, although difficult, is capture some of Lovecraft’s themes (without writing a Mythos story or filming an adaptation of his work).  This might be difficult but it can be done. 

Larry Correia with his Monster Hunters International and Monster Hunters Vendetta dealt with various things attempting to open a portal and summon the Old Ones to our world.  This is not a Lovecraftian tale per se(but they are both awesome reads), but it does incorporate the illusion of our reality and big, bad things without wanting to come within.  Similarly, John Carpenter with The Fog, The Thing, and In the Mouth of Madness was able to capture some of the themes and feelings of Lovecraft without writing a direct Lovecraft story (although In the Mouth of Madness is clearly a Lovecraft pastiche).  Nonetheless Lovecraft’s themes can be found in literature and film without actually being a Lovecraft tale. 

That being said I believe I’m going to try and focus on some of his more common themes, the fact that man is but a blip on the radar of the planet, perhaps the frailty of reality as we know it, and definitely ancient beings seeking to return.  These are fascinating concepts that have limitless possibilities, hopefully the possibilities I create can do justice to these concepts.

            On a related topic, since I’ve finished what I hope will become a published work, I decided it’s time to get back to work and start writing something new, this time I am doing something that I have alluded to in other stories over the past 3 years and I’m working on a Lovecraft influenced “mythos.”  I’ve wanted to do something that had the open ended workings of the C’thulhu mythos, but I did not want to borrow from that massive volume of lore.  Therefore I’ve set to create my own and hopefully once I’ve gotten a little farther along in my work I can post more about it here.  If you don’t know what this blog is speaking of, then please pick up a work of Lovecraft’s work and get to know the most influential horror writer of the 20th century.

So thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed it.

About lagomorphflix

Hey everybody, I'm a writer/ amateur filmmaker. I'm looking to go professional and always looking for ways to reach new audiences. So please feel free, take a read and let me know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

