Support, we all need it.

            Several weeks ago I talked about the importance of choosing a reader.  Today I want to talk to you about something else.  Most people involved in creative pursuits such as writing, filmmaking, or art need a group of individuals that serve as a support structure for you.  There are a few individuals out there who may not need that structure but I do.  Works of creative juju require a certain amount of confidence and ego to reveal to the larger mass of humanity as a whole, in order to protect these and build up to a greater level to grow your “fan base” this support structure is paramount.  These people serve a multitude of purposes but I’ll tell you what I think are the most important functions that these people perform for me.

            These are people who have faith in me and my vision.  It’s important to surround yourself with these types of people.  God only knows how many people we meet are happy to tell us that our goals aren’t worth attempting and how futile it is to try, but you need people who are willing to believe in you.  They may believe in me because they enjoy the work I produce or they may believe in me because they are my friends and want to see me succeed.  I’ll take either one.  These are the people who can help me when I didn’t get a great response to something I’ve produced.  It’s easy to get discouraged and beaten down when you can’t get the reaction you wanted or you may even doubt yourself these are the best people for that situation because they build you up.  These people are the doctors for your ego they can get you back on your feet quickly.

            These people are also a valuable resource.  Are you currently stuck on your writing project, throw out some ideas and get their feedback (you don’t have to take it but it may get your mind working on a tangent idea that will work for the story).  In my case these people have appeared in several of my videos ( www.youtube.com/satucker1980 ), if you are an artist you can use them as models.  As a writer several of the characters I’ve written over the years are almost carbon copies of these people (FYI- that makes characters more believable in my humble opinion when they are obviously real people).

            Finally, these people are your support structure but it doesn’t need to be a parasitic relationship with you taking from these people for your own needs.  It needs to be a reciprocal relationship, where you give back to these people as they give back to you.  Boost their ego, help them with projects when they need it.  I assure you it will allow you to stretch out as a person and give you a dedicated group of individuals to work with who enjoy helping you because they realize that you help them the exact same manner.

            These are just a few of the functions that I try and find in my support structure but at the same time it’s nice to be included in their support structure.  I hope this has been helpful and I hope you can at least have the friends and support half as good as mine because if you do then you have all you’ll ever need.

About lagomorphflix

Hey everybody, I'm a writer/ amateur filmmaker. I'm looking to go professional and always looking for ways to reach new audiences. So please feel free, take a read and let me know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

