A Masterpiece?

            As I was working on a treatment for a new screenplay last night, I wondered about masterpieces.  Does one know when they have created what will be their masterpiece?  I’m sure they feel there is quality in their work, but do they realize the reach of the piece.

            Tenacious D knew they had created a masterpiece, but could not recall it so they created a tribute to it.  Did H.P. Lovecraft realize how far reaching his stories would be, and did he consider any of them a masterpiece?  I suppose my musings were more about the idea of a masterpiece.  Who determines the status of it as a masterpiece?  Time?  The audience?  The creator? 

            It was through this musing that I stumbled upon the realization that no matter what a writer/artist/filmmaker may consider about their work, it is the audience who deems it valuable and time that determines the longevity of any work.  It is because of this that I believe the creator of a piece has the least control over what will be deemed a masterpiece.  The prime example of this is Jaws, had the film been made today using the same style of filming it would not have taken off, but because it was the first of its kind and the audience deemed it valuable and we still look to it today as a film of quality, it is considered a masterpiece.  Stephen Spielberg did not realize what Jaws would become in fact he thought it had killed his dawning career.  And he was wrong.

            I realize this blog may seem a little off track for my usual writing, but sometimes it’s best to capture the rampant thoughts in your mind.  So my word of advice to you all is to not worry about creating a masterpiece, merely put forth the best work you can and let time and the audiences weigh your creative merits.

About lagomorphflix

Hey everybody, I'm a writer/ amateur filmmaker. I'm looking to go professional and always looking for ways to reach new audiences. So please feel free, take a read and let me know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Masterpiece?

  1. greg says:

    dude you will definatly make a masterpiece…..but you have to make me one promise???? you will never forget the little man…..a.k.a ME….lol

  2. Not to worry man, how could I ever forget you.

Leave a Reply

