A Little Bit of Nostalgia (writing exercise)

            As Labor Day approaches and fall along with it.  I remember being a kid and starting to school (for my first few years we didn’t start until the day after Labor Day), and I remember in high school playing football.  So I pose a little exercise to flex those mental muscles for my writing readers out there.  Try and truly remember that first day of elementary/junior (or middle)/high school or college or try and remember that favored fall activity football/fairs/fall festivals whatever it might be.

            Really concentrate on these and see if you can capture into words the joy/anxiety/nervousness/fear/elation that you may have felt.  Can you write the story from the first person view as you experienced it and convey that to a reader.  Really let someone get into your head and feel what you felt? 

            I realize that some of those days are further gone than others, but I find that just relaxing and closing my eyes and concentrating helps to bring back some of the experiences and in some cases you may have a family story involving it.  I know my very first day of school has a couple of stories that my parents love to tell people.  This may seem like a pointless exercise to you, but I assure you if you can put the reader in your shoes for that experience, then you are doing good work, plus it’s a mental exercise, when’s the last time you worked out your mind?

About lagomorphflix

Hey everybody, I'm a writer/ amateur filmmaker. I'm looking to go professional and always looking for ways to reach new audiences. So please feel free, take a read and let me know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

