Legion (Movie/DVD review)

     God’s fed up with humanity and wants to remove them. The Archangel Michael abandons Heaven and fights against a possessed humanity to save an unborn baby in a diner in the middle of nowhere. He’s not fighting demons, but people possessed by angels.

     I liked this movie. Now having said that let me discuss some of the things that I didn’t like about this movie before I get to the redeeming factors that merited getting a positive review. One whenever a film deals with faith it is going to create some sensation with a good number of people. I myself do not like the portrayal of God as petty or faulty, I like my tales being good vs evil, not God made a bad decision. I also felt like the explanation came a little later than it should have, we have our diner patrons following a man who shows up with guns onto the ceiling and they begin shooting people, without having received any explanation. I didn’t like that, true the people had seen a weird thing moments before, but at the same time I don’t think it would have been enough for a diner of people to take up arms against people, without at least a minor explanation. The plot’s a little weak and does leave a few loose ends, but for the sake of the film it explains enough.       

     Now, the things I liked about this film were the cast and the action. The film starts with action and keeps a steady pace throughout. Paul Bettany (A Knight’s Tale, The Da Vinci Code) plays the Archangel Michael, and does a wonderful job. Not only is his performance spectacular but the writers made Michael a good character. Even though he’s now only a mortal, he still has been the “warrior” angel since the dawn of time, so he still knows a few things. Great scene: the human Michael, fights the angel Gabriel. In supporting roles are Dennis Quaid (GI Joe, Pandorum), Charles S. Dutton (Alien 3, Mimic), Tyrese Gibson (Tranformers), Lucas Black (Friday Night Lights, Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift), and Kevin Durand (X-Men Origins: Wolverine, 3:10 to Yuma). There are other characters and cast members, but I feel these lend the most weight to the film and do the best jobs. Also something I enjoyed was the character building and the way in which it was done. Something I felt was unique to this story was also the relationship between Gabriel and Michael. Even before they fight, Gabriel weeps because he has to battle his brother. I thought it was a nice touch.

     This film is at its heart a massive action film, an enjoyable one, but still. The special features on the DVD are not that impressive so I’d say buy it but not for more than $7.50-$10. But you can always Red Box it. Enjoy.

About lagomorphflix

Hey everybody, I'm a writer/ amateur filmmaker. I'm looking to go professional and always looking for ways to reach new audiences. So please feel free, take a read and let me know what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

